Welcome
Welcome to 28gasociety

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!

Mec Grabber crushing brass in resize collet

Discuss ammunition and reloading here. Loads, components, equipment, ideas.

Mec Grabber crushing brass in resize collet

Postby littlebear15 » Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:27 pm

I'm new to reloading and started out using primed Fiochhi hulls from Ballistics Products. At the time it was all I could find and I was anxious to try reloading. They worked well and with no hazard fee connected to primed hulls were inexpensive enough for me since I can source powder locally. All went well with good crimps and no complaints. The trouble began when I started to de-prime and re-size the fired hulls. The brass rims are being crushed. I checked all the back posts in this section and some of the posts on Shotgun World and the answer seems to be that the "wad guide" is a bit too low. There is no item termed a "wad guide" on the exploded view of the Mec Grabber. There is a wad finger and wad rammer tube, but nothing termed a wad guide. Even if I could find a wad guide I'm not sure that I understand the relationship between the resize collet and the wad guide or how to adjust the wad guide. I know the knee bone is connected to the leg bone but I need help on this one. Thanks for any insight. It's well appreciated.
littlebear15

Re: Mec Grabber crushing brass in resize collet

Postby MAX & TOBY » Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:21 pm

Go on SGW and send a message to "Curly No-Hair" or DL Marcum.
you can't buy accuracy.
MAX & TOBY